newest . archive . profile . email . notes . dland


2003-12-20

Your Daily Horoscope for December 21, 2003

You will be able to think quite clearly. Do the best you can with what you have to work with. Do your own thing and let people do theirs. Don't dwell on other people's drama. You should enjoy a good working relationship with mechanical objects today, and it's a great time to invest in a new gadget or appliance for your home. Don't be a cheapskate. Spend a couple of dollars to make your life easier.

So, it's settled. Tomorrow I am splurging on a micro tape voice recorder. I was driving home tonight and spent the entire drive home talking to myself, ranting over the Nick Drake album blaring on the stereo. I felt like I was in a movie, my rambling the voiceover and Nick Drake the soundtrack of my life.

When I was a child I used to have a little tape deck that I would record myself telling elaborate stories or hosting my own radio shows. Though I was quite often a shy and quiet child, I loved to talk. About five years ago I used to do audio entries on the websites I ran, the grown-up version of the lengthy cassettes I did when I was little. They were often random rantings, talking about shit from the top of my head. In some ways its even more cathartic than writing this here.

So tonight, while I spoke fast to myself in the car, even yelling and laughing and looking crazy to spectators, I realized how badly I need to document it all. Is that what makes me an artist above all else? Are my self-endulgent needs to talk and write and create everything really a way to keep some kind of hold on myself? Or is it to create myself?

I'm so full of it tonight. Hyper and manic as hell. I can't seem to stop.

I can feel a zit forming on my forehead from the coffee I drake this morning at work. I should know better than to drink caffiene.


< before . all . after >